PDA

View Full Version : Use DreamWeaver instead of WebCreator

spikescb
02-25-2010, 12:04 PM
I am a novice, so please don't use big confusing terms if you reply to this post. (thanks). Currently I have a site called spikescbradios.com I had to get it up very quickly, so I used the Website Creator thing provided with my package. It was quick and easy and served the purpose. When I get time, I will be creating a site in DreamWeaver and uploading it. But before I screw things up, do I need to somehow 'undo' the website creator version prior to uploading the DreamWeaver one? If I do, be specific on how I might do that.

Thank you for any help you can give me.

wildjokerdesign
02-25-2010, 02:20 PM
Come back and bump this thread next week. I might be able to help you through some things but right now is a bad time. Things are kind of busy. :)

deerfoot
02-25-2010, 06:57 PM
I'm patiently waiting for my sites to be restored so I'll take a stab at answering your question. I have not used Website Creator so don't know what files and folders(directories) it uses, but this should work without damaging anything.

When I design a new site in Dreamweaver, before I put it up live I make a folder(directory) on the remote WestHost server called "newsite" (without the quotes) and upload the new design there. The url to it would be www.mydomain.com/newsite. Once it's working and been checked with several browsers on both PCs and Macs, I create another folder named "oldsite," drag all the old files on the remote server into it, except for the folders for fm (file manager), cgi-bin, and pma if it's there, and drag the newsite files into the home folder (/var/www/html/). This way you don't destroy the old site until you know the new one works. Your index.html or index.php is the Home page that starts people around the site. (I see that Website Creator uses main.html instead. You should stick to index.)