PDA

View Full Version : Westhosted Spammer - Attn: Mark Cox

theplex
07-26-2009, 01:17 PM
I'm a Canadian journalist and have tracked a pharmaceutical spammer to Westhost. This is a particularly annoying spammer and my early research suggests he shouldn't be selling what he's selling through his website. (Waiting for several callbacks to confirm the legality of his site.) I have spoken directly with the website owner, who told me that he wasn't spamming me, that I was actually spamming myself. (I've been writing about information technology for 35 years, and running our mailservers here for 15, so do know a bit about how this stuff works.)

I wrote to Westhost requesting an interview about this issue, and received the following email (I've removed the phone numbers and advertising message from the email. It's otherwise intact.):

Dear George:

Thank you for contacting WestHost. I'm afraid we will not be able to do an interview at this time. However, you are welcome to post questions on our forums at:
http://forums.westhost.com/

Best Regards,

Mark Cox
Data Center Administrator
WestHost

Admittedly this is a somewhat unusual way to conduct an interview, but if that's how it has to be, then I'll give it a whirl.

So, Mark, I'd like to know why Westhost would provide hosting to a pharmaceutical spammer, somebody who does not appear to be a pharmacist but is selling prescription drugs from a website hosted by Westhost.

Is this an isolated incident, or are there more of this type of customer at Westhost?

Have you had any complaints about this spammer?

Have reports about this spammer to SpamCop and other anti-spam reporting sites had any impact on your legitimate customers?

The Westhost privacy policy - http://www.westhost.com/terms-conditions.html - appears to prohibit spamming, either directly of via a third party, for content hosted at Westhost. Is this policy actually enforced or is it there for show?

Looking foward to your response.

Regards,
George