PDA

View Full Version : Some VPS.NET / WH4 questions

chrishowie
07-07-2009, 12:30 PM
I posted this on the "WestHost 4.0" thread but figured that since there is a dedicated forum, I would repost it here.

I would also be interested in the discount for VPS.NET.

I've been using the winter holiday package for about six months now and am concerned about the transition to 4.0. Having almost root-level access has been fantastic -- I'm not sure how else I could have installed the Subversion module for Apache. Soon I'm looking at tinkering with mod_mono too. I have a strong feeling that 4.0 isn't going to allow that.

So VPS.NET is looking pretty good right now, except for the pricing model. Right now I have 100GB storage, 2TB bandwidth, and am paying $10/mo. The cheapest VPS.NET plan is $20/mo and you get 10GB storage and 250GB bandwidth. See a problem?

Now I'm not anywhere near the limits on my account, but if I'm going to have to switch over to continue what I'm doing on my WH account anyway, I'd sure like to get a hell of a lot closer to the caps I have right now. It seems a bit shady to say "we're going to give you these caps and features FOR LIFE ... until we decide to remove some of the features in an 'upgrade.'" It's the principle of the thing that really concerns me.

So, here are some itemized questions:

1. If I want to try VPS.NET right now and evaluate it as a replacement for my current hosting plan with WH, what kind of discount would I get if I don't also cancel my WH account?

2. Additionally, if I do decide to go with VPS.NET, what will happen to the remaining 5-6 months I have paid for at WH? Can that portion of my bill be credited to a VPS.NET account?

3. If I only want one node, what are your plans to deal with customers like me who have significantly higher caps on storage and bandwidth at WH? Will we get at least some increase or will we have to suck it up?

chrishowie
07-07-2009, 12:35 PM