PDA

View Full Version : Why cPanel???

TheMetalbunny
05-11-2009, 12:08 PM
I'm just wondering by what measure you think cPanel is easier to use than the existing site manager??? And why in the world you would even consider that junk??

From my experience with cPanel it is much harder to use than any other site interface I've ever had to deal with. Terminology is wrong on many pages (you're lucky if the descriptions make any kind of sense to unexperienced users), there is absolutely no logic to where you find things, and the many similar icons make the whole thing more confusing than necessary.

It is a bright example of what happens when programmers design things for themselves to use, and don't know anything about UI design to make it easy for others to use.

I'm a programmer myself, and absolutely hate cPanel. The thing is like using Windows 3 all over again, where you can't find anything because nothing is where you would most logically look for it. It is simply counter-intuitive for users that don't have a lot of experience with webhosts, or know anything about how the servers work, especially in a *nix environment.

I've been through several hosts over the past 6 years, but Westhost was the first one to provide a friendly environment where you can actually figure out how to do things on your own, without having to contact support for every little thing.

I have a long list of hosts that I cannot recommend because of cPanel. Would hate having to add WestHost to that list. From the look of it on the cPanel website, it hasn't changed much at all over the past year or two since I last had to suffer from it for a client... still pointlessly bloated, messy, and lousy designed.

RichardC
05-14-2009, 09:24 AM
Why cPanel?