PDA

View Full Version : Magentocommerce.com Shopping cart



Yudi
02-19-2008, 01:54 AM
Hi guys! Anyone here was successful in running magento? It's a shopping cart with amazing features - for free. They run a huge operation at www.magentocommerce.com and they are growing by the minute.
After installing it succesfully, I cannot access my admin section - get a “404 The webpage cannot be found” message. I tried uncommmenting and re-commenting everything in the .htaccess folder with no luck.
Any solutions?

wildjokerdesign
02-19-2008, 07:40 AM
Did you double check that all the files needed have been uploaded to the server? Double check also the url you are entering into the address bar. I am not familiar with this program but a very quick look at thier site did not lead me to think there is anything that different about it from other PHP programs that might be causing a problem.

Check the error_log file in /var/log/httpd for any clues. It is a plain text file so you can download it and view it in a program like notepad.

Yudi
02-20-2008, 01:16 AM
Yes, I did double check that it was all loaded - every last one. Nevertheless, in the error_log there are alot of "File not found: /var/www/html/js" messages. js is a file found one directory higher in /var/www/html/magento/js. There are also the same messages for other files.
Any suggestions? Thanks!

Yudi
02-20-2008, 01:25 AM
I'm going to try to delete the whole magento directory and reload it to /var/www/html/ instead of /var/www/html/magento/. (Renaming didn't work.) I'll let you know.

wildjokerdesign
02-20-2008, 07:34 AM
It sounds like maybe there was a problem with a configuration setting your installation of Magento. Not sure of what config settings the program uses but often programs ask for a physical path to the program. It almost sounds like this may be the case here and that you mistakenly set that config to /var/www/html.

Yudi
02-20-2008, 10:13 AM
Thanks! Actually, Magento does not ask for any path. After re-uploading and installing, the same scenerio repeated. I checked the error log and here is the end of it (I don't know how much of it is significant):
[client 87.69.104.154] File does not exist: /var/www/html/skin/install/default/default/css/menu.css, referer: http://www.friedmansgifts.com/index.php/install/wizard/end/
[Wed Feb 20 10:05:43 2008] [error] [client 87.69.104.154] File does not exist: /var/www/html/skin/install/default/default/css/print.css, referer: http://www.friedmansgifts.com/index.php/install/wizard/end/
[Wed Feb 20 10:05:43 2008] [error] [client 87.69.104.154] File does not exist: /var/www/html/skin/install/default/default/images/body_bg.gif, referer: http://www.friedmansgifts.com/index.php/install/wizard/end/
[Wed Feb 20 10:06:01 2008] [error] [client 87.69.104.154] File does not exist: /var/www/html/skin/install/default/default/css/menu.css
[Wed Feb 20 10:06:02 2008] [error] [client 87.69.104.154] File does not exist: /var/www/html/skin/install/default/default/css/print.css
[Wed Feb 20 10:06:07 2008] [error] [client 87.69.104.154] File does not exist: /var/www/html/skin/install/default/default/css/menu.css
[Wed Feb 20 10:06:08 2008] [error] [client 87.69.104.154] File does not exist: /var/www/html/skin/install/default/default/css/print.css

wildjokerdesign
02-21-2008, 07:40 AM
The errors you posted seem to have something to do with the installation process itself. The path that is stated "/var/www/html/skin/install/default/default/css/menu.css" looks a bit odd. The duplication of the default directory leads me to think that perhaps the a .htaccess file is causing some issues. You could try the installation process without uploading the .htaccess file and perhaps that would take care of things.

Before you do that check to see if there is a configuration file on the server that may have a reference to paths. Also install phpMyAdmin via your Site Manager then log into it (the link well be provided after you intall it and the password and username is the same as that for you main account login.) Then check the database that was created for it and see if there are any config tables that may have some information that would be useful.

If I can find some time I'll download the program and see if I can get it to install on one of my accounts.

wildjokerdesign
02-21-2008, 08:39 AM
Ok I was just able to download and install Magento on my test account with out any hitches. That means there is something missing on your account or that you missed a step in the installation.

I was wrong about the duplicate of "default" directory. Seems that this program is configured to use that duplication so that is not the issue.

The one thing that may be a problem is that this program requires (unless you install using different files) php5.2.0 or higher. We have php 5.2.5 available to us and that is the version I run on the account I installed this on.

Where you able to make it through all the Installation steps? There are about 5 or 6 of them and the last step is the creation of an admin account and an encryption key.

Opps sorry just noticed that in your first post you mentioned that it installed fully. So what choices did you make in installation if you can remember them. There is one screen (sorry can't be specific) that ask you what type of installation you wish to continue with. Choose the stable version. That should have opened up a black background box below that with some output. I did choose to use .htaccess on the install.

Did you make sure that you set all the permissions correct before you began the installation?

Yudi
02-26-2008, 02:59 PM
Sorry, I didn't check the forum a few days. It is very nice of you to go through all that trouble. Yes, I set the permissions right. Yes, I did the stable version. I don't know what you mean by "choosing to use .htaccess on the install". Sorry for being a newbie. I wish there would some kind of glossary for newbies. Anyways, I'm at a loss.

wildjokerdesign
02-27-2008, 07:01 AM
I hate to say this but since you are a "newbie" it might be better if you run an established eCommerce program like oSCommerce that is available in the Site Manager.

Remember that this program is new and although they say it is stable it is still not recommended for "real" use. Even on their download page it states:

Please keep in mind: Magento is currently in a preview release and not recommended for use in production environments.

Yudi
02-27-2008, 02:04 PM
I agree with your logic. However, I must have the filtering feature of their's - what they call Layered Navigation. Seehttp://www.magentocommerce.com/features/customer-features/layered-navigation. The only other cart I saw that has such filters is at http://www.phpmass.com/cart.htm. PhpMass is a one-man new project and also in beta version - therefore not a great alternative. Magento, on the other hand, has a bustling community. I therefore need Magento for their filters. Would you be able to assist me? Time is of essence. Thanks.

adam
04-10-2008, 12:59 AM
I agree with your logic. However, I must have the filtering feature of their's - what they call Layered Navigation. Seehttp://www.magentocommerce.com/features/customer-features/layered-navigation. The only other cart I saw that has such filters is at http://www.phpmass.com/cart.htm. PhpMass is a one-man new project and also in beta version - therefore not a great alternative. Magento, on the other hand, has a bustling community. I therefore need Magento for their filters. Would you be able to assist me? Time is of essence. Thanks.


delete his account