PDA

View Full Version : Renaming a domain



clone45
11-12-2007, 07:09 PM
Hello!

I tried to rename a domain and have been having some trouble getting everything working. The old domain was kirtburdick.com.whsites.net. The new domain is howtobebulletproof.com.whsites.net. When I go to the second domain, it seems to be redirecting to the old domain name. I can't figure out why. In my http.conf file, the virtual host is set up like so:

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName howtobebulletproof.com.whsites.net
ServerAlias www.howtobebulletproof.com.whsites.net
DocumentRoot /var/www/howtobebulletproof
</VirtualHost>

There's no mention of kurtburdick at all in the http.conf file. (PS: kirtburdick.com does exist on another server at the moment. We're transferring it over once we create the new site.) I installed wordpress at howtobebulletproof.com.whsites.net, and that's what should be appearing when I go to that address.

Any idea what is causing that redirection issue?

Thanks!
- Bret

wildjokerdesign
11-13-2007, 06:43 AM
What is in the configuration for Wordpress? Did you perhaps install it using the old domain name?

clone45
11-13-2007, 09:10 AM
Shawn,

Oh yeah! That probably has something to do with it. Thanks for the advice. I should be able to fix it now. :-)

- Bret