PDA

View Full Version : web site problem



desperateboy
10-24-2007, 03:56 AM
Hello everyone...
I am trying to create a website using frontpage and need some assistance.Before i was discussed at web site design company's (http://www.webdesigningcompany.net) forum.It is first time that i sharing with u guys.
I want to create it using Frames (So the header, footer, and index on side remain the same throughout). The Reason for this is so when I update I don't have to update every page if the header, etc changes. However I want the frames to blend with the page and not appear separate. Does anyone know how I do this?
Thanks for your help!!

Roric
10-24-2007, 01:10 PM
I would recommend looking at server side includes or PHP to do this instead of frames. With SSI or PHP, you have separate files that hold your menu, footer, and header content. When the page is loaded, the included files are called up and inserted into the page.

I used to use frames, but the scroll bar and the getting "trapped" in the frame just got too annoying for me.

I use SSI myself on several sites and it is a huge time savings when you update one of the sections. I hope to one day have the time to learn PHP and rewrite the sites to use that instead as I have heard SSI can be a little insecure.

wildjokerdesign
10-24-2007, 05:17 PM
The simplest of PHP scripts/pages to do what you are both looking for would be to use this bit of code in your pages:


<?php incude("/var/www/html/header.php"); ?>

You would change the file name header.php to each "page" you wanted to include. You but that at the place in your page where you want the include to show up.

Here are two simple tutorials that illustrate this for a common menu. The first is just the basics and the second gets a bit fancy. :)

http://www.tizag.com/phpT/include.php
http://brainstormsandraves.com/archives/2006/09/27/navigation/

NOTE: Remember when you are useing PHP the page has to end in .php not .html or .shtml

corvus
10-24-2007, 11:15 PM
Hello everyone...
I am trying to create a website using frontpage and need some assistance.

I'm not a front page user, so can't provide the specifics on this, but front page supports doing exactly what the others are talking about without using frames.

In front page, they are called dynamic web templates. Check out http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/frontpage/HA010775891033.aspx