PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading Applications



rgkopchak
05-31-2007, 01:33 AM
I noticed that I didn't have access to mySQL 5 that other day, and wondered why. After contacting WH I was told since I was a reseller I needed to add the application to the package, and that:

"You may have to create a new package from the start and add the application that you want. Make sure that you backup the data before that you do that."

Not sure I know how to do that, and I was wondering if anyone had experience adding Applications to packages.

wildjokerdesign
05-31-2007, 06:29 AM
Well they are speaking of the MySQL databases that you have installed on the site. You can do that several ways but the easiest is via phpMyAdmin useing the Export tab.

You can also use the shell to back up your database. Here are a couple links that may help you with that.
MySQL Manual (http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/mysqldump.html)
Backing Up and Restoring Your MySQL Database - Tutorial (http://www.devshed.com/c/a/MySQL/Backing-up-and-restoring-your-MySQL-Database/)

WestHost - MCox
05-31-2007, 10:10 AM
Shawn is right, Mysql itself doesn't need to be backed up. Just make sure you have a copy of your databases in case the upgrade process fails and the data is lost on the server end.

rgkopchak
05-31-2007, 10:48 AM
Thanks for the information. That makes sense... since I haven't done anything yet with mySQL it shouldn't be a problem.