PDA

View Full Version : Another WH formmail.pl question re hiding addresses

samp
03-08-2007, 03:12 PM
Hello,

Have read the other threads re formmail and hiding the email address in the form.

I prefer to use the WH supplied formmail.pl, don't have the background to install TFMail or NMS Formmail myself.

I have the WH formmail running fine.

However, I'd like to hard code the email address(es) I want to send to into the formmail.pl script itself. I'm not perl experienced, so am struggling through the script. I haven't seen an answer to this in the other threads.

As near as I can tell, "recipient" is the key parameter to control the receiving email.

Is it possible to declare a variable "recipient" and then pass it to somewhere(?) in the script? And leave the line in the form with the email address out all together?

Something like this in formmail.pl:

use vars ($recipient) ;

$recipient= theaddress @ thedomain.xyz ;

(spaces in address purposely)

Again, I have no perl background and am just guessing at this.

Thank you,

Jim

jalal
03-09-2007, 02:12 AM
Just use NMS Formmail, it is much easier than modifying the existing formmail. And if you make a mistake editing the existing formmail, you could have security issues.
NMS Formmail simply replaces the existing formmail with no problems.

samp
03-21-2007, 03:54 PM
Just use NMS Formmail, it is much easier than modifying the existing formmail. And if you make a mistake editing the existing formmail, you could have security issues.
NMS Formmail simply replaces the existing formmail with no problems.

Thank you. Have been struggling along with nms using readme.txt and EXAMPLES.txt. So far it is partially running with a few test fields.

Problem:

On the Thank You page, and in the confirming email back to submitter the following is showing up after the fields submitted:

X: 65
Y: 34