To administer your WestHost account, please enter your
Domain Name or Server Manager Username.

WestHost: Professional Website Hosting Company








Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    11

    Default SpamAssassin Procmail

    I have gotten Spamassassin re-installed and working. It had stopped working. I am using global setting through the configuration link. Where is spamassassin placing these global user prefs? If I set the individual setting they go under ftp/pub/... but I can not find the global settings. I have looked in /usr/local/perl/share/spamassassin/, /etc/mail/spamassassin and /home/user/.spamassassin, and /.spamassassin. I would like to add some body and header rules globally. /.spamassassin shows a user_prefs but it has no uncommented or altered entries. I know they are there because it is tagging at a lower threshold and my black and white lists are being used.

    Also since the re- install Procmail in not processing the Spamassassin block. I keep ending up with all the spam delivered into my inbox. My procmailrc is located in /etc/procmail and is otherwise working, I have test rules and they are functioning. My spam block is as follows. Right now I have change the 10* + statement to send mail to spammail so I will see it is doing what I want normally I have it set at /dev/null

    # SPAMASSASSIN BLOCK

    # The condition line ensures that only messages smaller than 250 kB
    # (250 * 1024 = 256000 bytes) are processed by SpamAssassin. Most spam
    # isn't bigger than a few k and working with big messages can bring
    # SpamAssassin to its knees.
    :0
    * ! ^FROM_DAEMON
    * < 256000
    {
    :0 fw: /var/lock/spamassassin.lock
    | /.spamassassin

    #10 stars or more...
    :0
    *^X-Spam-Level:\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*
    /var/spool/mail/spammail

    # 5 to 9 stars...
    :0
    *^X-Spam-Level:\*\*\*\*\*
    /var/spool/mail/spammail
    }
    # END SPAMASSASSIN BLOCK

    Thank you
    Jocelyn

  2. #2
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,687

    Default

    My /.spamassassin/user_prefs has the global settings. They are at the bottom of the file. I am pretty sure that when you configure via the Site Manager that they changes are written there. Are you sure you are not somehow seeing a cached version of the file? Not sure how that would be possible but it is the first thing that comes to my mind. How are you accessing the file? Is it via an FTP program or SSH?
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thank you are right the changes are there at the bottom. I did not scroll down far enough. When done individual it is putting them at the top so I did not even look at the bottom of the file. I use FTP most of the time I write in crimson editor. Now if I can just get procmail to cooperate all will be good.
    Jocelyn

  4. #4
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,687

    Default

    Since you say that SA stopped working and that you had to re-install you might want to submit a support ticket on the issue. I don't think it should make a difference but you could try to restart the VDS via your Site Manager. I am not real good with it area of things... perhaps one of the other users well have some ideas.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I did put in a support ticket. I went into the site manager after it stopped working and uninstalled and then attempted to re-installed. When re-installing I got error messages. Westhost had to rest some files so that it would install.
    Jocelyn

  6. #6
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,687

    Default

    If you still have the email from the original support ticket you should be able to use it to reply and that well open up the ticket again. You could explain what is happening and perhaps they could be of help. Since they had to reset some things in order for you to get SA re-installed prehaps there is something else they need to look at in regards to the SA block. I wish I had a better answer for you.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

Similar Threads

  1. SpamAssassin -> Procmail -> Uebimaiu spammail folder
    By PeteF in forum E-mail / FTP Management
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 01:54 PM
  2. Using procmail to transfer spam
    By EricWH in forum E-mail / FTP Management
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-11-2007, 04:29 PM
  3. Procmail using a test not in Procmailrc
    By macdj in forum E-mail / FTP Management
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-19-2006, 09:01 PM
  4. SpamAssassin skipping messages
    By macdj in forum E-mail / FTP Management
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-09-2006, 08:20 PM
  5. Procmail Rules Help Please
    By proaudiogear4less in forum E-mail / FTP Management
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-16-2006, 04:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •