To administer your WestHost account, please enter your
Domain Name or Server Manager Username.

WestHost: Professional Website Hosting Company

Question New to VPS and have questions

I've had websites of my own for about 3 years. That entire time it was always on a shared hosting service. So while not new to the web, I am very new to the concept and operation of a VPS and need help to understand what level of work is required from me.

Some questions I need to ask:

1. Do I have to install the Operating System or is that already done for me?
    2. Do I install MySQL and PHP and Apache or are those already here? Can I change their options/modules if needed?
    3. Can I only use the programs mentioned in the plans or can I install and run others not provided here?
    4. Is Drupal an allowed program on this service?
    5. Can I have a PHP based chatroom on here that has fairly low traffic?
    6. What versions of MySQL, PHP and Apache are in use here?
    7. Is a program such as PhpAdsNew allowed on this service?
    8. What level of support is provided for a newbie? Is there a fee or limit on tech support?
    9. Is the MailMan mailing list manager (or others) supported? Is there a limitation on traffic other than the bandwidth on my selected plan?
    10. If I were to buy a lower priced plan, would the essentials be the same (disk structure, control panel, etc.) as a higher priced plan?

The current hosting company I use has the following resource usage limitations. Are there any here, if so how do they compare? How much memory am I allowed to use? How many accounts are held on a single server?

Code:
    RESOURCE USAGE RESTRICTIONS
    ---------------------------------------

Processes invoked by the web server, cron, shell or any other method should not exceed the following limitations:

- Consume more than 16 MBs of RAM.
    - Utilize in excess of 15 seconds of CPU time.
    - Number of open files should not exceed 64.