To administer your WestHost account, please enter your
Domain Name or Server Manager Username.

WestHost: Professional Website Hosting Company








Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3

    Default Path's with WH @.0

    Hello, I have a few cart programs running and with the changes we've had, im concerned on the paths to certain files, the old way I'd code :
    /home/servername/www/foldername/filename.html

    Now with all the new file I see loggin in, would I change to :
    /var/www/html/foldername/filename.html' as a path to the files?

    I need to be right the first time so I don't knock the shop offline ....

    Rick

  2. #2
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,685

    Default

    Don't know if this helps but I just did some modifications on an old script that writes html files and pointed it using the /var/www/html/foldername/filename.html and it worked.

    According to http://members.westhost.com/newprocedure.html it says Root Web Directory: /www/htdocs .

    Sorry I can't tell you for sure. The path I used did write the file where I wanted it to.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  3. #3
    Senior Member FZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,024

    Default

    Rick,

    It will still work the old way (/home/servername/www/...) - I just checked. You should not have to make any changes to any files. But you may want to start using the "real" path (/var/www/html/...) in your new scripts from now on.
    Fayez Zaheer

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Any idea which is Imagemagick convert path?
    Ara o mai.

  5. #5
    Senior Member FZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,024

    Default

    betran,

    I don't think Imagemagick is installed by default - you'll have to install it yourself using SSH. I could be wrong.
    Fayez Zaheer

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Thanks design64, i've seen some comments that say it is in the system, at least it was:

    http://westcorp.westhost.net/updates...es/000017.html

    I'll do what you recommend.

    But I've seen some comments that complain about it's version or if it really works or not...
    Ara o mai.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sacramento California
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bertran
    Thanks design64, i've seen some comments that say it is in the system, at least it was:

    http://westcorp.westhost.net/updates...es/000017.html

    I'll do what you recommend.

    But I've seen some comments that complain about it's version or if it really works or not...
    I had the company that sold me a script that uses Imagemagick or Perl GD to produce thumbnails search WH for installed scripts/programs. It is my understanding the the full usable version of Imagemagick was not installed.

    I used Perl GD, but now that is not installed. If I can't get one of these installed I must find a difference hosting company- No Choice! I believe that we may have the ability to installed ourselvers. I will try when the servers are more reliable. Right now my site is up & down like a YO-YO.
    I hope thing get better soon!

    CM

  8. #8
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,685

    Default

    I was just looking in my profile located in my root directory and saw a refrence to ImageMagick.
    Code:
    if [ -d "/usr/local/ImageMagick" ]; then
    	export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/ImageMagick/lib
    	export PATH="$PATH:/usr/local/ImageMagick/bin"
    fi
    I looked in those locations but could not find it. I know at some point they said it would be available. Would this indicate they may be getting close?

    Shawn
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sacramento California
    Posts
    64

    Default ImageMagick Installation

    Quote Originally Posted by wildjokerdesign
    I was just looking in my profile located in my root directory and saw a refrence to ImageMagick.
    Code:
    if [ -d "/usr/local/ImageMagick" ]; then
    	export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/ImageMagick/lib
    	export PATH="$PATH:/usr/local/ImageMagick/bin"
    fi
    I looked in those locations but could not find it. I know at some point they said it would be available. Would this indicate they may be getting close?

    Shawn
    Hi Shawn,

    I believe there was a very limited version previous installed.

    I think that they may have planed to make it available at a later date. I don't know if now with all the problems with WH2 it will be installed soon. I know that several people have installed it in the past on their site. There is a procedure for installing without root access.

    I wonder if we are suppose to be responsible for installing our program under WH2.

    If I find a way to installed it I will PM you.

    Charlie

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Cool, I'm working on the same direction. I'll try to install it this way:

    http://www.photopost.com/magicknoroot-php.html

    The program I use makes PHP's GD library work properly, but I've seen results on Imagemagick are much better.
    Ara o mai.

Similar Threads

  1. Cronjob will not run
    By nickjam in forum Solutions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-27-2009, 02:36 PM
  2. Best practice subdomain paths
    By TonyL in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-28-2007, 02:16 PM
  3. Subdomains and Relative Paths
    By danguru in forum Domain names & DNS
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-18-2005, 07:19 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-01-2004, 08:42 PM
  5. cgi paths
    By AUS-CITY in forum CGI Scripts / Perl
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2003, 10:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •