To administer your WestHost account, please enter your
Domain Name or Server Manager Username.

WestHost: Professional Website Hosting Company

Default Protocol: IMAP, Server Response: 'Lost mailbox lock'

I am not an expert in server setup, mail or otherwise.
    I moved from another hosting company to Westhost because they are in my opinion the best out there. I still think so, however. I cannot get this issue resolved.

While running Microsoft Mail (in Vista) setup as IMAP I get the following message...

Protocol: IMAP, Server Response: 'Lost mailbox lock'

I also noticed that the status in the bottom left corner of MS Mail shows "Connected", then, DL 23 of 23, but then instantly goes to "Not Connected to [mailbox]..."

If I click on a message, say to delete it, it might just dissapear before I can even hit delete or if I can hit delete it will cause the above error.

I called tech Support but they could not help on this one, they usually nail any issue in a few seconds.

I really dont know where to go from here. Some of what I have ready talks about issues with duplicate mail boxes with different cases MB and mb.

If anyone has solved this and still uses Outlook, OL Express, or MS Mail and Westhost IMAP, please help.

Many Thanks

Kolin
    Last edited by kolin; 10-08-2008 at 11:28 PM.

Kolin,

I'm not an expert with MS Mail, but it sounds to me like there is some sort of connection problem. I'd suggest checking your firewall settings to make sure MS Mail isn't being partially blocked.

Also, the MS Mail documentation may have some helpful information. I might suggest checking there to see if you can find anything like this issue described in their troubleshooting information.
    Sincerely,

Mark Cox
    Data Center Administrator
    WestHost

When you expect more from your Web host
    http://www.westhost.com/

Are you checking the email account from more than one computer?

http://www.washington.edu/imap/IMAP-...ndex.html#7.19